Mountain Blog

Dramatic finishes are tradition at the Michigan PGA Women's Open

web designer - Thursday, June 23, 2011

Since moving to Crystal Mountain in 2003, the Michigan Women’s Open has seen its fair share of drama on the 18th hole of the Mountain Ridge course. The tournament has been decided on the final hole in six of the eight years it’s been hosted at Crystal Mountain beginning with an historic victory by Breanne Hall:


– Breanne Hall had the lead when she hit double bogey on the final hole of regulation resulting in sudden death playoff with Allison Fouch. Hall bounced back with a birdie on the same hole to become the first amateur to win the Open.

– Just a year after becoming the first female to win the Michigan PGA Tournament of Champions, Stacy Snider birdied the final hole of regulation and the first hole of a sudden death playoff to defeat Amy Malinaric for the championship.

– Lisa Strom held a one-stroke lead on the final hole of regulation with Leanna Wicks inside of ten feet for birdie. From 66 yards, Strom holed-out an eagle to seal her first Open victory.

– Trailing by as many as two strokes in the final round, Connie Ross pulled even with Elaine Crosby on the sixteenth taking the lead on the very next hole. The victory marked an amazing comeback as it was her first tournament in over five years.


2009 – A fight between the Green & White, Michigan State alum Allison Fouch battled for 18 holes with Laura Kueny of Michigan State who would later be named 2010 Big Ten Player of the Year. Fouch rallied from a stroke down at the start of the day to win with a clutch birdie putt on the final hole of regulation.


– Lisa Strom became just the third player in history to win multiple Michigan Women’s Open titles when she birdied 18 to edge three-time champion Suzanne Green-Roebuck.

The Michigan PGA Women’s Open returns to Crystal Mountain's signature Mountain Ridge course, June 27-29. There is no admission fee for spectators. Fans can also follow live scoring online at the
Michigan PGA. Crystal Mountain will be posting updates on Facebook and Twitter using hashtag #MWO11.

The tournament once again boasts a field of players from across the nation including former champions Elaine Crosby, Suzanne Green-Roebuck (runner-up in 2010) and Connie Ross. Other LPGA Tour veterans in pursuit of the $35,000 purse include Sue Ertl, Cindy Figg-Currier and Jean Bartholomew. Top amateurs will compete as well, including 2010 Michigan Women’s Amateur Champion, Natalie Brehm.

Post has no comments.
Post a Comment

Captcha Image

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.